Skip to content

A Weekend In The Life

October 19, 2010

Most folks leave their weekends open for their family or social life. My weekends usually involve work. Here’s my itinerary of last weekend and a typical example of how I juggle all three.

Friday: wake up, make my way to my engineer friend’s studio where we listen to and discuss the audio mix for a record that I’m producing, lunch with said friend, pick up the little man from daycare, shower and get ready for a night out with my wife, brief the babysitter, dinner with friends, drinks, dessert with friends, drinks, bed

Saturday: wake up, avoid bright light and replenish fluids, take the fam to the Pumpkin Patch where we meet friends and pick out pumpkin, go home to find the pumpkin’s tough skin un-carveable, drive an hour+ to an early-evening gig, arrive at gig early, hit the local record shop and make purchases, go to the gig, drive home, meet old friend at home and catch up, we hit up a jazz club where friends are playing, sit in on their gig and have a good ol’ time, hit a pub for a nightcap, bed

Sunday: wake up, shower, go to my weekly sports bar to watch football, scour two different grocery stores to find a more carveable pumpkin, go home and carve said pumpkin much to the delight of the little man, clean up the house, meet friends at another sports bar to watch the Colts play the night game, back to friend’s place to change and watch Boardwalk Empire, head to my weekly gig co-hosting a late-night jam session, home by 3AM, bed

Fascinating, right? Well, maybe not. If you don’t think so click the image and be fascinated by this AMAZING video:

Flying Lotus "Kill Your Co-Workers"

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    October 22, 2010 11:23 am

    I remember living said life. At least some of it. Maybe most if it. Can’t remember. Or trying to remember if I can remember what I should remember. Exception? Went to bed at sunrise.

    • October 22, 2010 10:42 pm

      HA! I actually don’t do too many sunrises anymore. My mantra: “no matter how late I go to bed, Milo will be up at 6:30AM …”

  2. khm permalink
    October 22, 2010 9:24 pm

    It sounds full but kind of nice to me. When do you see Carrie?

    Weekends are busier here than weekdays with three girls playing soccer, Rob coaching (and boy, is dealing with him on that score a HUGE job), planning the upcoming week and recovering from the one ending… I get pretty annoyed if anybody puts demands on my Mondays.

    I can’t wait to see you soon, Boy Wonder.

    • October 22, 2010 10:43 pm

      Well, there was the Friday date night, first night like that we’ve had since Mom was here, the pumpkin patch Saturday morning, catching up with our old friend Saturday evening, and carving the pumpkin on Sunday …

  3. khm permalink
    October 23, 2010 4:39 pm

    ohhhh. I missed that. I meant no untoward implication. Rob is the only one with a work life outside the house but for sure I hardly ever get time with him, with kids or not. That tired saw about parenting changing from man-to-man to zone-defense is absolutely the right analogy in our experience.

    Case in point: a week ago I had an eye injury that had me in the ER from about 6 pm to 9 pm on a Friday night. Rob had to be home with the kids so when it was time for me to leave, I texted him and he had someone watch the kids while he picked me up. We ended up filling prescriptions at the 24-hour pharmacy adjacent to a KFC…presto: spontaneous (and brief) date night. Seriously. That’s the closest we’ve come to out by ourselves in over a year.

    The good news is that when we are together alone we fall right back into our groove–we have great fun alone together. I don’t know that I would do things differently if I had the opportunity but I know for sure that three kids definitely makes couple time a huge challenge. One that we struggle with, obviously. Most of our heavy discussions happen by email when he’s at work and the kids are at school… sad, sad, sad.

  4. Carrie permalink
    October 27, 2010 7:37 am

    You do mannage to fit in a tremendous amout of activity into a few days. However, there was an obvious absence of collective hours of naps taken.

Leave a Reply

